10 plus 10 equals what?

I suppose that I ask the question “why?” in response to many situations.  This is one such case: why should I compose this post?  Am I doing it for anyone’s edification besides my own? If so, what are the chances any such person will even be aware of this post?  I chose to put those questions aside because for me this a very significant day that deserves to be acknowledged in some way.

I have mentioned in this blog space what happened 10 years ago today.  I feel it is important to look back and reflect on what has happened since June 30, 2006.  I cannot not go into detail, for lack of space,  but I think just hitting on a few points from that conversation will give you a glimpse into my thinking on this day.

Tweet.  Ten years ago I coined the word “tweet” for an entry on the proposed site known as Twitter.  This is the most used social media site in the world.  If I were only know for having the idea to “tweet” then I would be famous around the world.  This blog is like an anonymous tweet.

Crocs.  You could say that Crocs have come and gone.  Oh well.

Car.  The car we spoke of is still in my possession.  I recently had it repainted and it looks even better than the day I bought it.  I remember writing down the car’s specifics when I was still in high school and laughing to myself about this preposterous idea.  Ironically, almost everything else that was a part of my life has fallen away and the car is about all that remains.  I am probably more known this day for being the guy with that car than anything else.  This must be the most ironic aspect of my life.

Bible.  Ten years ago I said the words and the strokes of Scriptures would change.  They did, and hardly a soul has taken notice and realized what it means.  This has to be the biggest disappointment of my life.

Aliens.  Many years ago the thought that there were or are alien races in this Universe was a notion believed by only the fringes of society.  Now, it appears to be gaining a place in mainstream belief.  I may not be able to take any credit for that but I feel I have made an impact in this realm.  Who knows how soon we will find these thoughts actually becoming an accepted standard.

Friends and family.  The family part of that hardly exists.  I have not been in close contact with relatives and I guess I am fine with that.  I still have a few friends from years ago and have made a few more since then.  I do have a social life but am set against building a long-term intimate relationship.  It can be boring but it also means much less stress.  I am satisfied with my choices in this area.

Money.  I do not have much money to my name but more than I had a few years ago.  My experience over the last year has me focused on what I really need and far less on what I want.  I am barely making ends meet but I have a roof over my head, I pay my bills, and my credit rating that was trashed from its high point of ten years ago is slowly recovering.  It has been a long struggle but I feel I am stronger than ever in this area.

Entertainment.  We covered so many people and works on that day.  I find myself almost completely divorced from mainstream entertainment.  I have seen one first-run movie in over seven years.  I may have purchased an album or two.  I have less interest in what the industry produces than I ever have and only find some joy in hearing the most local of acts.  Even then, I would probably rather be reading a classic book.

Work.  I am supposed to be doing some kind of work but my motivation is really at a zero point.  I feel I have done more than enough for everyone and have received nothing in return.  What more can I do that will change anything?  I ask myself less and less frequently what I can do for the rest of the world today.  I keep things small and really concern myself with taking care of myself, only.  It really is simpler that way.

 

This entry was posted in aliens, automotive, cat, Crocs, environment, fun, God, Holy Scripture, house, Jesus, judgement, king, love, Messiah, money, movies, music, peace, prophecy, religion, TV. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

