Jeep just says “no” to the recall

This just came to my attention on CNN during Anderson Cooper: 360.  I posted the above link from the USA Today article on the subject.

2002-2004 Jeep Liberty photographed in USA.

I bought and drove a 2002 Jeep Liberty Limited for over five years.  The same Jeep Nicole told me not to drive that day we talked because of the curse of her birthday.  The one I said I would drive anyway just because I was determined not to do what she told me.  The one that was rear-ended on Santa Monica Blvd. by a guy driving a white BMW a few hours later.  Apparently, since I was stopped and he did not have enough space to gain momentum, the “evidently vulnerable” gas tank did not rupture and cause a fire.  There is a long list of could have, would have and should have here.

Over a year later, I encountered Natalie Portman in Thousand Oaks with the same Jeep Liberty.  I have no idea if she still has it, and I do acknowledge that silver 2002 Jeep Liberty’s are all over Southern California, but I wonder if anyone could be in danger if they are driving around in my old car.

This story is still developing, I’m sure.  I cannot imagine that Chrysler is going to gain much customer loyalty from the appearance of not caring enough about their customers.  However, if you think a “1 in a million” chance of this type of problem occurring is not much worse than “1 in two million” chance, then you are seeing it Chrysler’s way.

This should be another great example of how “perception vs reality” is going to play itself out.

Of course, if you are reading this and own one of the Grand Cherokee’s or Liberty’s from that era, consider your options carefully.

P.S. I just discovered the ignition switch on the 1992 Thunderbird I mentioned in my previous post was also subject to a recall and I have no idea if the previous owners ever had that work done.  I’m still getting around to researching that one.

Link | This entry was posted in care, money, prophecy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

