Car 63 – On the road again

Finally. I got all those little things straightened out and hit the road.  I cannot tell you how good it felt.  For all those who have wondered W.W.J.D. (what would Jesus drive?) you know there are a wide variety of choices, but this one is my favorite.

tbird13aI had it repaired locally to replace a burnt out ignition switch and yet another battery.  While I was at it, I also had the very old battery cables replaced after I replaced the starter relay myself.  I have put a lot of money into it for a poor person but when I cruise around in this thing it seems like it is worth every penny.

I’m hoping to get to a place where I can garage it because the paint and chrome have taken a beating in the harsh Western Slope environment.  When I do, I’ll put the chrome outer rings back around the headlights.

So I took off on a tour of the southwest part of Colorado.  I had waited for so long, about three and half years, to see what was very close by.  I went around and got lost a bit and took pictures.  I finally got to Telluride and it is as beautiful as everyone told me.  I really liked Durango, too.  After looking at the Grand Mesa in my backyard all this time I got up there, as well.  I’ll be going back up there in the future.

As I was getting close to home I was interested in seeing what was on the other side of the Uncompaghre plateau.  The scenery there is also incredible.  There are many “Range Cattle” signs there and I was wondering if I would see any along with the elk and other animals all along the route.  Sure enough, I did. cowcrossing

I had to laugh: this is not something I ever remember seeing in California.  They looked at me as I looked at them.  A minor traffic stand-off, but I waited for them as they crossed the road.  All the way around, it was a fun little vacation.

P.S. I had made some jokes about this car, before I bought it, as being known as “Car 63” and NASCAR commentators describing what I was going to do in it.  I have new Colorado plates and the first two digits are 6 & 3.

This entry was posted in cute, Jesus, photography, prophecy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

