Feeling Overwhelmed

When I watch reports from Japan, I cannot help but feel the overwhelming sense of loss.  What goes through my mind next is the numbing sense that I am powerless to do anything about it.  I have no means of getting there because, based on some very questionable decision-making on my part, I am in a financial hole that has me “grounded.”  I am really not even in a position to make a donation to relief agencies to assist those that are suffering.  I am not comfortable admitting that and that thought just turns my stomach.

What is also extremely disturbing is that this catastrophe has the unfortunate consequence of distracting our attention from all of the other recent catastrophes that warrant our attention; where there are people who still need help.  The oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico does not get any widespread media attention anymore and it is obvious that people in that part of the world have been devastated by it.  The same could be said for people in Christchurch, Chile, Haiti, Egypt, Libya, and many other places.

Even though I cannot make things significantly better for any of these people, even if I was the richest man on the face of the Earth, I still try to maintain my focus on Burma.  The ongoing human rights catastrophe that is Burma has been pushed aside for a long time.  I have not forgotten what Cyclone Nargis revealed and because so many other troubled places are taking attention away from the plight of the Burmese people I feel a duty to keep putting my focus back to them.

I can only do so much;  that is my way of try to “balance things” the best I can.

This entry was posted in disasters, prophecy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

